If you use an Adblocker please consider disabling it while browsing this blog.
By viewing and/or clicking the AD's you make the future of this blog brighter! Thank you!

Advertisement

Thursday, June 21, 2018

The Power Of Book Covers: Of Dreams And Dragons By Karpov Kinrade


They say don't judge a book by its movie...err...COVER. 
BUT they never said we couldn't PRAISE them.

This week's cover:

Of Dreams And Dragons
By Karpov Kinrade

From USA Today bestselling author, Karpov Kinrade, Of Dreams and Dragons begins an incredible tale of magic and wonder and love. For fans of Throne of Glass, Harry Potter, and Game of Thrones, experience a story of epic proportions.

The day darkness descends into my life begins like any other.

Taking care of the kids I call my own. Fighting fires in my small Northern California town. How could I have known evil walked my streets and would soon rip apart my world?

But death comes for us all, and when a stranger with mysterious abilities shows up demanding payment for a promise I never made, I refuse. When he kidnaps my baby sister, I fight back.

And I discover the power of the dragons within me.

Now, I must leave everything behind and travel to a world of magic and wonder in order to train with a charismatic dragon lord, in the hopes that one day…

I can save my sister.

Or make her killer pay with blood.

But nothing in this world is what it appears. And my closest friends are keeping secrets from me.

Secrets that could tear the worlds apart.
Goodreads Button
Available At:
Amazon | B&N |

Tuesday, June 19, 2018

Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Plan To Read This Summer

Hiya My Little Predators!!

Welcome back to:
A weekly feature created By The Broke And The Bookish
Currently featured on That Artsy Reader Girl

Books I Plan To Read This Summer



Wild Hunger
(Heirs of Chicagoland #1)
By Chloe Neill
I read a few books in the Chicagoland Vampires series, but it eventually lost me due to a cruel cliffhanger. The characters were great and other than that specific plot point the overall story (from what I remember) was good. I'm hoping to get into this series with a fresh perspective and an open mind.
Goodreads Button


Burn Bright
(Alpha & Omega #5)
By Patricia Briggs
I have a love/hate relationship with this series. I loved the first two books in this series, but there was something off about the next two. I'm hoping this will be the book that I finally like, but from the reviews I've read and the discussion posts I've seen I don't think this will be for me. I'm still willing to push through, at least, the first few chapters so I can get a feel for the story but I can't guarantee anything else. Here's to hoping I love this book!
Goodreads Button

Messy Love
By Stephanie Witter
This sounds like a great contemporary romance, but it's been sitting on my shelf for months at this point. I usually like books by this author. This novel has amazing reviews and sounds right up my alley. I don't understand why I'm hesitating to pick this up.
Goodreads Button


Cross Stoke
By Elizabeth Hartey
This was one of those impulse buys. It sounds good at the time, but when it finally released I was questioning my decision to get it in the first place. From the reviews I'm skimmed, it has cheating (which I hate under normal circumstances), but I can't bring myself to try and figure out why because on the off chance I want to read this I don't want any specific spoilers to other parts of the story. If you've read this book, please tell me in the comments who gets cheated on or cheats in this novel!
Goodreads Button

What books are you planning to read this summer?
Let's discuss in the comments below!

Monday, June 18, 2018

Audio Book Review: This Side Of The Grave By Jeaniene Frost

This Side Of The Grave
(Night Huntress #5)
By Jeaniene Frost

Narrator: Tavia Gilbert
Length: 9 hours and 57 minutes

Danger waits on both sides of the grave.

With the mysterious disappearance of masterless vampires, a species war is brewing between vampires and ghouls that would kill mortals as collateral damage. Cat and Master vampire lover Crispin "Bones" seek help from dangerous ghoul queen of New Orleans Marie, whose voodoo powers rouse ghosts into unstoppable killers of the undead. The cost may prove more treacherous supernatural war, with repercussions Cat never imagined.
Goodreads Button
Available At:
| Amazon | Audible | B&N | Kobo | iBooks |

My Review:

I love this series, but I took too long to listen to this book in tiny increments and it ruined the experience somewhat. For starters, the beginning wasn't memorable. This is the second time I'm reading this novel and yet I don't even have a vague idea of what happened.

Kat and Bones were a kick*ss duo that I love coming back to read about. Their dynamic is very interesting. I loved how they were always there for each other and would accomplish the impossible to help one another.

The Voodoo Queen was an amazing character that I love and hate. She's all-powerful and the such, but deep down she has a moral code that no one will dare ignore because of future possible consequences. She's also very calculating and I loved every minute of her theatrics with Cat.

The ending was bittersweet when the subject is Dawn. He's such a big part of Cat's story, even though it didn't take me by surprise, it was still sad. I like the part he continues to play in Cat's future adventures though.

The Audio Book:

The narration was great, but I'm finding myself sometimes bothered by Bone's voice and other times not. I can't explain why that's happening. 

My Rating:



Friday, June 15, 2018

My Ramblings: Where Do You Draw The Line?


Where Do You Draw The Line?

Cheating is a despicable act. If you're with someone you no longer desire/want in your life, in theory, it would be smarter to talk it out and have both parties go their separate ways, instead of cheating and going behind the other persons back. 

I tend to stay away from books that I know have pure adultered cheating in its storyline because it's not something I agree with and it's not the type of storyline I'm looking for in a romance novel. The way an author handles it, from a writing perspective, can make me understand or simply be able to "live" with it and not DNF on the spot.

But then the question becomes:
If cheating is despicable, then how do you feel about marriages of convenience in books?

I've thought about this ever since I read a book a few years ago that featured it as an "obstacle" for the heroine to overcome. I've come to the conclusion that it doesn't bother me. If the people married were never an actual couple but got married to get, for example, the other person out of a bad situation or for the families sake (and later plan on divorce), then I don't mind it. The way I see it, they were never an actual couple and they were never involved in any way with each other, so technically speaking, there was no cheating. It's just a meaningless signed piece of paper. Though, I will concede and point out the lie by omission on the hero's part.

On a different note:
Can you overlook cheating if you care about the characters enough?

When it's an on again, off again relationship or the couple has called it quits for a time and one of them has a one night stand, does that equate to cheating? I was looking over an older review of mine and noticed that I referred to the get-with-someone-else called-it-quits moment in the "relationship" as a mistake on the heroine's part. I don't remember enough about the story to form an opinion on it today, but it made me think about how my tolerance for these kinds of situations has gotten smaller over the years. If I were to read a book that featured that kind of situation today, regardless of who commits the act, I don't think I would like it very much. But then I start thinking about how they were, for the moment being, over as a couple so why should I be bothered by it? It's an endless cycle of should I or shouldn't I.

Have you encountered marriage of convenience in a book and liked it?
Can you overlook cheating in a book?
Let's discuss in the comments below!

Thursday, June 14, 2018

The Power Of Book Covers: Captivated By Crimson By Brynn Myers


They say don't judge a book by its movie...err...COVER. 
BUT they never said we couldn't PRAISE them.

This week's cover:

Captivated By Crimson
By Brynn Myers

When a god and a vampire queen desire you, things can get complicated.

Nola Blair is a free-spirited artist who’s been offered a hefty sum to create a unique piece for a party at Elizabeth Bathory’s ruined castle. It’s an assignment she declined––twice. However, at the behest of her sister and her best friend, she finally gave in, choosing her career over her annoyance with the misogynist ass trying to secure her services.

Erzsebet Bathory has been trapped for centuries and would do anything to escape, including using her own son, Paul, to do her bidding. Soon she’ll be free and take her place among the ferals as their queen.

Andrik Kane had no idea his life would change when he saved Nola from a band of rogue vampires. Charged with the hunting of ferals and their creators, one broken rule and the blood of a beautiful brunette in distress ends up giving him more than he ever bargained for.

One wants her blood, the other wants her to be his. Who will decide Nola’s fate?
Goodreads Button
Available At:
Amazon | B&N | Kobo |
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...