If you use an Adblocker please consider whitelisting this blog.
By viewing and/or clicking the AD's you make the future of this blog brighter! Thank you!

Advertisement

Monday, January 17, 2022

Audio Book Review: Mave Fortune By Elizabeth Dear

Mave Fortune
(Blackstone Academy #1)
By Elizabeth Dear


Narrator: Stefanie Kay & Neill Thorne
Length: 13 hours and 17 minutes

When my family left our small, ultra-conservative pack back in Utah to join a giant pack in Northwest Louisiana, I thought I'd be able to coast through my last year of high school in semi-anonymity, then get the fuck away from wolf pack politics and just live my life for awhile. But the Moon decided to prolong my torture by placing my fated mate in front of my face on my first day at Blackstone Academy. He's the Alpha's son and king of a school crawling with shifters, and it turns out he doesn't care to be saddled with a Moon-chosen mate who he thinks is a nobody-omega wolf.

When he rejects me in front of every shifter in school, I vow to harden my heart, become impervious to the constant, deep hurt of the rejection, and figure out how to be the first wolf in known history to shake the taint of a rejected fated mate bond.

I'm also becoming closer to a new student—a smoking hot and intriguing human, who I can't manage to scare off even with the drama that surrounds me and the poisonous pack politics that I can't seem to escape. I can't even tell him what's really going on, but I think he's keeping secrets from me, too.

I'm Mave Fortune, and my mate threw me out like yesterday's garbage. But fuck that guy.

This is a new adult, M/F rejected mates standalone story. It is intended for the 18+ crowd and contains foul language, some mild violence, and sexual scenes. If you're a fan of upper YA/NA, wolf shifters, academy romances and the tropes associated with each, dive right in!
Goodreads Button
Available At:

My Review:

So...Confession time! I was in quite the mood when I initially picked up this book. I had it in myself to DNF it after reading the prologue. I know, I know but I was in a really weird mood! I remember thinking it read juvenile and nothing else. Color me surprised when I saw this had an audio book. Since I was waiting on another book to release I picked it up and OMG I love this book. It's my new personality! 

For a first-time author, this was very well written! The plot was steady-paced and purposeful. There wasn't a dull moment in this story and I can certainly appreciate the level of dedication it must have taken to make this book what it is today.

I loved how positively the LGBTQ+ community was represented. The heroine's brother is gay and has a lot of relevant on-page time and isn't suffering/in distress every time we see him. He's a big help to Mave and the situation she's in. The next book features him as the main character and I'm very intrigued about how his whole ordeal is going to play out.

The heroine, Mave, was a bad*ss empowered woman. Her family was her biggest supporter and backbone. She always stood up for herself and her friends when in danger. I liked her very much. 

Mave's partner (whose name escapes me now...oops) was pretty awesome! He respected her, cared about her, AND listened to her. Color me surprised! On a more serious note, he was fantastic and saved the day in more ways than one. 

The werewolf society the author started fleshing out in this book was very toxic and believed a woman's place was beneath the boot of her jailor *ahem* mate. I'm very interested in seeing if that changes with the leadership change and if that's going to reverberate in the other packs in the future. It was very frustrating to listen to but it sure was entertaining. 

The "villain" of this whole story was so good at being bad! The way he was written had me legitimately angry. I stayed up past midnight on multiple days to get to a place in the story where I could relax enough to let it go. 

Details I'd like to nitpick:

- Why the author made the executive decision to actively include brand names and song/artist names in the novel? Considering how LGBTQ+ positive this book was I was VERY surprised when the author brought up a song that was playing in the background that featured none other than DaBaby. This was probably written long before his homophobia was rearing its ugly head but I can't help but cringe. This is why I prefer authors make up brand names and bands/songs for their novels. It won't date their novel so easily in the future. It'll prevent anything that happens to those things mentioned from being reflected on how I feel about the novel. This is just a personal grievance for me but can you tell that I can go on and on about it when given the chance? 😅

- Maybe this is more of a me-being-a-very-private-person thing but the way Mave and Ben shared stories of the hookups they had in explicit detail with each other was just plain weird. 

- The over the top slut-shaming was really, really, really annoying. All the air-headed characters doing it to the heroine were very cliche. This hit a very prominent nerve for me. The story could have done with much less if any at all of this particular trope.

My Rating:


Monday, January 10, 2022

Book Review: Curse Touched By Becky Moynihan

Curse Touched
(A Touch of Vampire #2)
By Becky Moynihan

There’s no escaping a curse . . .

The last thing I expect is for my aunt to kidnap, then abandon me. I’m desperate for answers, especially as to the condition of Lochlan D’angelo, my stalker turned protector.

Problem is, I’m still shaken over learning his true identity. I question everything he ever told me, including the realness of the supposed bond between us.

Stuck at a supernatural school in the middle of nowhere, I’m forced to make a decision: stay at the academy where it’s safe, or help the vampires break their curse.

But as a dark foretelling arises and mysteries about my past unfold, all I want to do is escape.

CURSE TOUCHED is the pulse-pounding second installment in a steamy upper YA/NA paranormal vampire romance series. If you like fated mates and forbidden romance, heartrending twists, a tough heroine, and a sexy antihero, this book is for you.
Goodreads Button
Available At:
| Amazon |

Check Out The Other Books In This Series:
(Linked To My Review)


My Review:

This was SUCH a good book! It was just as good as the first! The writing was steady-paced. The secondary character's shined bright in this one too. I wish the third book was already out as I write this review because the cliffhanger was REAL.

Kenna has been dealt such a bad hand through no fault of her own. I loved her bond with Lochlan. One thing I disliked about Kenna though was that she seemed to get control over her magic in the span of a few hours and it felt forced. I also hated that her so-called Aunt Tess is still part of this story. I want her happy ending to be a ditch. Before you ask, yes her ending up like that would make me very happy.

Lochlan was a great guy all around! He was so sweet and caring with Kenna and the people he chooses to surround himself with. He was also willing to end the world as we know it to keep Kenna safe. So he's a total keeper in my book. Kade was also a great comic relief of this story and he provided a bit of background on Loch. 

The ending was still mean considering it ended on another cliffhanger. This one didn't feel like a natural stopping point like the first one did. Then again, maybe that's just me projecting how angry and anxious that ending made me. I'll be eagerly awaiting the release of the next novel!

My Rating:


Monday, January 3, 2022

Book Review: Shadow Touched By Becky Moynihan

Shadow Touched
(A Touch of Vampire #1)
By Becky Moynihan

Some truths are best kept in the shadows...

At nearly eighteen, I’m months away from escaping my aunt’s secrets and lies. Except, I’m harboring a big secret of my own.

A red-eyed man cloaked in shadow has been stalking me at night.

I wanted Rosewood, Maine to be my final destination before college. My chance at normalcy. But strange, unexplainable things are threatening to derail my plans.

The red-eyed man followed me here, and he’s not the only one. Two hot guys transfer to my new high school right after I do. They track my every move, especially the aloof and mysterious Lochlan D’angelo.

As I’m sucked into a dangerous world embroiled in secrets, I start to question everything I’ve ever known. Including who I am.

Fans of Twilight, Vampire Diaries, and modern Beauty & the Beast retellings, sink your teeth into a world of dark mystery and forbidden desire.

SHADOW TOUCHED is the thrilling first installment in a steamy upper YA/NA paranormal vampire romance series. If you like enemies-to-lovers and fated mates, heartrending twists, a tough heroine, and a sexy antihero, this book is for you.
Goodreads Button
Available At:
| Amazon |

Check Out The Other Books In This Series:
(Linked To My Review)


My Review:

If this author has one thing down pat it's FORESHADOWING. I don't remember the last book I read that had this much foreshadowing that kept me interested for this long. She did a great job sprinkling just enough bread crumbs into the story to keep me interested. We're talking somewhere over 70% and there was still barely anything revealed. It's an art form that very few authors can do right if you ask me.

At first, I was expecting the reveal to be a totally out-of-the-box lore but it ended up being pretty basic but not so basic. If that makes any sense? The author tweaked the concept just enough to be interesting in this new world she created and I loved it. 

Kenna was a great character to follow though I disliked how no one would tell her anything. Getting information to her was like pulling teeth in the most unpleasant way possible. I liked that when she set her mind on something she went after it with all she had. She got quite a few answers that way. The whole time I was certain there would be a loophole to her and Lochlan's situation. I'm still waiting to find that one out.

Lochlan was fantastic and the mystery and allure he propagated were on point throughout the novel. I still wish he was more open with Kenna about their situation, what she was, what being together would mean, and so on and so forth.

I'm SO damn glad Book #2 is already out. I wouldn't say this ended on a cliffhanger. It was more of a natural stopping point in the story. However, had this book ended one or two chapters earlier we would be having a completely different and very ranty and angry conversation. I really enjoyed this book! I just hope Kenna gets answers in the next book!

P.S. Aunt Tess can bite me 🙃

My Rating:


Friday, December 31, 2021

Monthly Recap: December 2021

December!

Is it bad that I'm glad the holidays are over? They haven't had much meaning for me for a long time. Halloween is as close as I get to that feeling. Another year has gone by and we've lived to tell the tale. The Plague™ is unfortunately still going strong. At this point, I'm starting to question when our new "normal" will start to feel okay again. My allergies are still kicking my butt and my appointment with a new allergist (who will hopefully take me seriously this time) is in March. Oof. 

Happy New Year, I guess? 

Until next month!
Happy reading!

Books I Read & Listened
To In December

| eBook | Audio Book | Free Story |

  • The Wolf By J.R. Ward - This book started off very slow. When it finally got to the good stuff though it DID NOT disappoint! (My review is live here!)
  • Ruined King By C. N. Crawford - Apparently I was so meh about this book that I completely forgot I read it and therefore didn't write a review. Oops 😅

| Audio Book | eBook | Audio Book |

  • Obsidian By Jennifer L. Armentrout - The characters were fun and entertaining. The story had a great pace to it. Daemon was even more witty and sarcastic than I remember him being. All around great story! (My review is live here!)
  • Shadow Touched By Becky Moynihan - If this author has one thing down pat it's FORESHADOWING. I don't remember the last book I read that had this much foreshadowing that kept me interested for this long. (My Review coming soon!)
  • Night Watch By Annie Anderson - This was better and than I was initially expecting it to be! The story was fun in a dark way. The characters are pretty interesting and did hold my attention. (My review is live here!)

| Audio Book | Audio Book | eBook |

  • First Drop Of Crimson By Jeaniene Frost - I love, love, love the world Jeaniene Frost has created and fleshed out with these books. I consider them to be a classic to the vampire PNR genre. The characters are great, the story is fantastic and everything is so well written! (My review is live here!)
  • Death Watch By Annie Anderson - I can't say I liked this book. It was okay. I would even say it was meh for the most part. The so-called mystery was nowhere to be found. Nothing moved forward for that storyline. All the worrying and the huge time jump didn't make for a particularly memorable story. (My review is live here!)
  • Curse Touched By Becky Moynihan - This was SUCH a good book! It was just as good as the first! The writing was steady-paced. The secondary character's shined bright in this one too. (My Review coming soon!)
Books I Can't Wait To Get
My Hands On In January

* Book titles are linked to Goodreads.
Here's What Happened On
This Blog In December


I reviewed the following books & audiobooks:

Want to know my Top 12 Books Of 2021?
You can check out the full list here!


What books are you looking forward to reading this month?
Let me know in the comments below!
Mikky Sig 2

Thursday, December 30, 2021

2021 End Of The Year Book Survey

 Hiya My Little Predators!

Here we are once again:
End Of The Year Book Survey!

Let's agree to leave whatever happened in 2020 and 2021 behind. Pretend it never happened because it TOTALLY didn't! Though The Plague™ is still here the vaccine is helping. We'll get through this together.

Let's end the year on a nice quote:
"Whatever makes you feel the sun from inside out, chase that."
- Gemma Troy

So without further ado:

Happy New Year!
& Here's to a better year than 2020!

Hope you guys enjoy!!

Hosted By Jamie over at Perpetual Page Turner

* Book titles are either linked to my review of the novel or its Goodreads page.

Number Of Books You Read: 108 (2 more than last year!)
Number of Re-Reads: ~ 10
Number Of DNF's: 20+ unfortunately 
Genre You Read The Most: Paranormal Romance & Urban Fantasy!


1. Best Book You Read In 2020?


2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?
3. Most surprising (in a good way or bad way) book you read?


4. Book You “Pushed” The Most People To Read (And They Did)?

Any and all Annette Marie books!

5. Best series you started in 2021? Best Sequel of 2021? Best Series Ender of 2021?

Best Series I Started in 2021:


Best Sequel of 2021:



Best Series Ender of 2021:



6. Favorite new author you discovered in 2021?

C.A. Worley! I'm excited to read more books written by this author in the future!

C.A. Worley loves all things fantasy and paranormal, especially when paired with a dose of humor. She's always been an avid reader of the genre and, in recent years, found herself writing it. One might say she's a little obsessed with the concept of fate, which is usually a central theme in her stories.

C.A. currently resides in the Midwest, but was born and raised in the South. She spends her days working from home and her evenings are spent shuttling her kids to and fro. Her dinners are subpar, but she makes a mean dessert.

When she's tired of living her sons' travel sports schedules, C.A. enjoys a glass (or four) of wine. She needs the liquid courage to click the publish button for her fantasy romance novels.

Her motto is, "Be Brave," and she tries to live it every day. It takes a healthy dose of courage to get through this thing we call life.

7. Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone?

I didn't get out of my comfort zone this year!
2021 was one heck of a year and I just needed my comfort books!

8. Most action-packed/thrilling/unputdownable book of the year?

HANDS DOWN
9. Book You Read In 2021 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year?

I said it last year and I'll say it again this year. I'm hoping to get a third reread out of the Blood And Ash Series! Even though it might look like it I swear I'm not a masochist 😅


10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2021?



11. Most memorable character of 2021?



12. Most beautifully written book read in 2021?


13. Most Thought-Provoking/ Life-Changing Book of 2021?

I read a lot of amazing stories but none were life-changing!

14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2021 to finally read?


15. Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2020?

This is Mission IMPOSSIBLE for me. Every book I review I mention my favorite quotes from the book at the end of the review. If I tell you I have A LOT of favorite quotes it's putting it mildly.... (Still true from the last few years!)

16. Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2020?


Longest: Covet By Tracy Wolff (680 pages [21 hours and 39 minutes] - My Review Coming Soon!)

17. Book That Shocked You The Most

Shocking because OMG that plot twist/cliffhanger ending!

18. OTP OF THE YEAR (you will go down with this ship!)
* OTP = one true pairing

I didn't ship any characters that weren't
already canon, so I'll get back to you on this!

19. Favorite Non-Romantic Relationship Of The Year

The relationships that the brothers in J. R. Ward's Black Dagger Brotherhood Universe has, has proved to be a favorite of mine this year!

20. Favorite Book You Read in 2021 From An Author You’ve Read Previously

21. Best Book You Read In 2021, That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else/Peer Pressure:

Does feeling FOMO when everyone on Twitter was gushing about how amazing From Blood And Ash By Jennifer Armentrout was, count? If so, that one!

22. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2021?



23. Best 2021 debut you read?



24. Best Worldbuilding/Most Vivid Setting You Read This Year?

Still this one from last year!


25. Book That Put A Smile On Your Face/Was The Most FUN To Read?



26. Book That Made You Cry Or Nearly Cry in 2021?

Are you tired of hearing about this book in the post yet? 😅

27. Hidden Gem Of The Year?


28. Book That Crushed Your Soul?


29. Most Unique Book You Read In 2021?

I read a lot of amazing books this year but
none of them come to mind as most unique!

30. Book That Made You The Most Mad
(doesn’t necessarily mean you didn’t like it)?

This one had me FUMING in the worse way.
I'm still angry about it.




1. Favorite review that you wrote in 2021?

I'm so far ahead in reviews that they're all blurred together at this point. I couldn't pick one if it killed me :/ (Still true this year)

2. Best discussion/non-review post you had on your blog?

The year of our lord 2021 was not the year of the discussion posts on this blog. I wasn't feeling very inspired and The Plague™ is still taking its toll. We'll see how next year goes!

3. Best event that you participated in (author signings, festivals, virtual events, memes, etc.)?

I live in bumf*%@ nowhere in a small town in Brazil no less. No authors I know actually come here and travel is very expensive so it's not a possibility as of now. (Still true this year)

Even if I did live somewhere that had book events the pandemic wouldn't have let it happen anyway C:

4. Best moment of bookish/blogging life in 2021?

Comments! Always.

5. Most challenging thing about blogging or your reading life this year?

I've been stuck reading PNR and UF for years now. I love those genres but I do like to branch out into a contemporary or two every now and then. The problem is when I do try my brain starts to throw me into a reading slump. There have been very very few exceptions to this, this year but I still have an ever-growing list of contemporary security/mafia/MMA books that I would LOVE to read if only my brain would let me. It only got worse this year because the world was falling apart and diving into fantasy was the best escape I could think of.

6. Best bookish discovery (book related sites, bookstores, etc.)?

None this year unfortunately!

7. Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of this year?

My one and only challenge every year is the Goodreads Challenge! I set my goal for 50 books and ended up reading 107 books in total! You can check out all the books I read here! This has been the third time in my life that I've managed to read 100 books in a year! At least one good thing came out of this dumpster garbage of a year 

1. One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2021 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2022?


(I just need to re-read the first two books
in this series to get to this one!)


2. Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2022 (non-debut)?



3. 2021 Debut You Are Most Anticipating?

I don't think I have any debut authors on my 2022 TBR list! I don't usually pay attention to who the authors are all that much (unless I've been reading books by them for a few years). Usually, I like to stay in my comfort zone with the authors I know in my tried and true genres. If I come across a book by an author I don't know and the synopsis is good I'll read it but I don't go out of my way to look for debuts specifically.

4. Series Ending/A Sequel You Are Most Anticipating in 2021?



5. One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging Life In 2022?

Get out of the mood I'm in that only lets me read paranormal romance and urban fantasy! I adore those genres but a break here and there does the soul good.

6. A 2022 Release You’ve Already Read & Recommend To Everyone:

I haven't read any 2022 releases, so I have none to recommend at this point in time!

What was the best book you read this year?
Let me know in the comments below!
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...