If you use an Adblocker please consider whitelisting this blog.
By viewing and/or clicking the AD's you make the future of this blog brighter! Thank you!

Advertisement

Monday, April 19, 2021

Audio Book Review: Kiss of the Damned By Elena Lawson


Kiss of the Damned
(Fallen Cities: Elisium #1)
By Elena Lawson

Narrator: Holly Fielding
Length: 7 hours and 31 minutes

Paige has no interest in being a demon’s plaything.

She shouldn’t even be in the Fallen City of Elisium, but all it takes is one Nephilim jerk proclaiming her to be tainted and that’s exactly where she winds up.

The demons she encounters there are vile, wicked beings, though none more so than Kincaid: the cruelest and most powerful of them all. To ensure her safe return home, Paige must strike a bargain with him.

Forty days in exchange for her freedom.

With no other option, she agrees. If Kincaid’s interest in her can help solve the riddle of her origin and aid in her escape from Elisium, she figures it’ll all be worth it.

Only, the more time she spends with Kincaid, the more the tenuous line between love and hate melts away. Soon, Paige will be forced to confront something far more disquieting than the truth of her heritage: a confusing connection with a demon that she cannot deny.

From bestselling author, Elena Lawson comes the first book in an inventive new series that will thrust the reader into a world of dark temptation, deception, and desire.

Perfect for fans of L.J. Smith, Kresley Cole, and enemies-to-lovers romances. Enter the supernatural world of Fallen Cities in Kiss of the Damned today.

*This book is part of a series and ends in a cliffhanger.*
Goodreads Button
Available At:
| Amazon | AudibleB&N |

My Review:

I don't know what I was expecting when I picked this up but I liked what I got and I'm looking forward to the next book in the series! This is on me but I'm pretty sure this series is part of a spin-off series because there was minimal world building. Considering how I went into everything only knowing what the heroine presented (which was also very little information) I feel like I was just as lost as she was in certain aspects.

The heroine was in a very strange and extraordinary situation. It was interesting to read about and be just as lost as she was in that situation. It made for a great start to the book which only built throughout the story. Though personality-wise she was a tad bit bland. She was stubborn but that's as far as her personality streched.

The hero started out as a scary *ss. He eventually warmed up to the heroine but it never really felt like they had any chemistry other than the secondary character's claiming they were seeing it. I wanted them to have more of something that I can't quite put my finger on to convince me they actually liked each other.

The ending was strange. I swear that I saw the sequel's storyline when they went to a very specific place (that I can't name or I'll spoil the novel for you) but then the author magically "fixed" it and then the book ended. I'm slightly confused but intrigued enough to want to know what happens next and to finally get to answer to what the heroine is.

The Audio Book:

The narration was great! All the characters of distinguishable from each other and there were no strange noises in the background of the recording.

My Rating:


Sunday, April 18, 2021

Book Look #308: Beginnings By Karen Tomlinson

    Hiya My Little Predators!!

Hope you enjoy!! C:

***
Book Looks Was Created By

This Week:
Beginnings
By Karen Tomlinson


For my previous Book Looks click here!
Follow me on Ur Style for more!

Monday, April 12, 2021

Audio Book Review: Beast of Shadows By Krista Street

Beast of Shadows
(Supernatural Community Standalone)
By Krista Street 

Narrator: Zachary Johnson & Sarah Pavelec
Length: 12 hours and 17 minutes

Collin

I was warned not to leave my werewolf pack—that doing so would turn my wolf into a murderous rogue, but I didn’t listen.

So now I live in the shadows, fighting to control my beast who’s developed an insatiable thirst for human blood. I don’t always succeed, which means the Supernatural Forces are out to euthanize me.

But then I see Brianna…

She calls to something deep inside me. Something I thought I'd lost.

Even though my beast craves her death, my heart aches for her to save my soul, so I take her for my own.

Brianna

For weeks, something’s been … off. I can’t explain it, but it’s as if I’m being watched.

Suddenly, I’m snatched off the street and thrown in a trunk by a terrifying man who shifts into a wolf.

Even though I fight Collin at every turn, something pulls me to his broken soul. We’re drawn to each other, and my touch may be enough to heal his beast’s psychotic mind, but the Supernatural Forces doesn’t believe in second chances, and the SF always catches the rogue werewolves.

When they do, if I can’t stop them ... they’ll kill him.
Goodreads Button
Available At:

Check Out The Other Books In this Series/Universe:
(Linked to my review)


My Review:

I think my expectations got the better of me. I'm still new to the anti-hero hype so I was excited when this book was announced. I wanted Collin redeemed. My problem with it all was that he had to become a completely different person to have that happen. I wanted the snarky, dark, and witty Collin we met in Angel In Embers to get redeemed. I didn't want him to have to transform into someone else entirely to have a chance at that redemption. Am I making any sense? I swear this was easier to explain in my head.

I also didn't really like Brianna all that much. As much as she tried to fight for Collin she barely made a dent. She and Collin didn't really have much in common aside from the mates thing. I think I saw Collin with a sassier woman who would/could put him in his place, literally *wink, wink*.

The Collin we meet in this novel was half out of his mind due to his past decisions. The first half of this novel was so interesting because of his erratic and unpredictable actions. After that though, he calms so far down that he doesn't resemble either version of himself. 

The last 3 hours or so of this book were h*ll. All that powerlessness that I felt with Collin's situation and how no one could do anything to help him in any meaningful way was so frustrating. I disliked that what eventually "saved" him were two miracles. Let me tell you one thing about me: Miracles and the stories I read don't go together. That was yet another disappointing turn this story took.

Overall, I still continue to love the universe the author built around these characters and the Supernatural Community series as a whole. I'm still excited about the spin-off series with different characters in this same world coming later in the year. I'm hoping this was a one-off and that I'll enjoy future books in this universe!

The Audio Book:

The female narrator sounded like she was 12 years old and it only made my dislike of Brianna worse as the novel progressed. The male narrator was VERY into his role. As a voice actor, he gets a 10/10 from me. Though his female voices left a lot to be desired. There were no weird noises in the background of this recording.

My Rating:

Sunday, April 11, 2021

Book Look #307: Taming Demons for Beginners By Annette Marie

    Hiya My Little Predators!!

Hope you enjoy!! C:

***
Book Looks Was Created By

This Week:
Taming Demons for Beginners By Annette Marie


For my previous Book Looks click here!
Follow me on Ur Style for more!

Monday, April 5, 2021

Audio Book Review: Midnight Lies By Leia Stone & Raye Wagner

Midnight Lies
(Shifter Island #2)
By Leia Stone
& Raye Wagner

Length: 6 hours and 35 minutes
Narrator: Vanessa Moyen

Nai thought nothing could be worse than Alpha Academy’s midyear games…

The first few months of school weren’t exactly easy: fated-mate from the rival clan, selkie attacks, and that minor, aka huge, plot to kill her.

But things seem to be going from bad to worse.

After watching a loved one’s horrific death at the hands of the alpha king, Nai decides another visit to Dark Row is in order. After all, a witch there knows the Keeper of Souls, and Nai wants her friend back.

But the trip to the Realm of the Dead doesn’t go quite as planned. Nai discovers a family member has been keeping secrets—BIG secrets. Scratch that. Make that TWO family members—and LOTS of secrets.

When Nai's negotiation skills land her and Rage in a contract that is near impossible to meet, the consequences of success and failure are equally dire.

Ah, hello, trouble!

She's determined to bring her friend back from the dead and still keep her mate, or die trying.

One thing’s for certain, nothing on Shifter Island will ever be the same.
Goodreads Button
Available At:
| Amazon | Audible |

Check Out The Other Books In This Series:
(Linked To My Review)


My Review:

This wasn't my favorite book of this series but it also wasn't that bad. My main issue with it was how these impossible problems came to be but were resolved like it was no big deal at the very end of the book. With how big the problems were I was expecting them to be spaced out into a few books.

Nai continues to be an interesting character. The mysteries surrounding her are becoming clearer. I actually appreciate her stumbling around and asking for help with the things she doesn't know about/hasn't mastered yet. I also appreciate her drive to do things she doesn't want to, to benefit her pack and father.

Rage still leaves a bad taste in my mouth due to the events in the first book. He still hasn't won me over. Maybe with the novella from his point of view as the next book in this series that will lessen or change altogether. As of now, I'm still not a fan and I dislike how fast Nai forgave him for his BS.

The end was disheartening. It would have been too simple to actually have a 10-minute conversation with Rage explaining the circumstances, right? RIGHT? Urgh. I guess I know what to expect in the novella from his point of view now and I'm not happy about it.

The Audio Book:

The narration was fine. The characters were distinguishable from each other and there were no strange noises in the background. The audio was clear and easy to listen to.

My Rating:

 
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...