If you use an Adblocker please consider disabling it while browsing this blog.
By viewing and/or clicking the AD's you make the future of this blog brighter! Thank you!

Advertisement

Tuesday, September 17, 2019

Book Blitz: Taming Demons for Beginners By Annette Marie


Taming Demons for Beginners
(The Guild Codex: Demonized #1)
By Annette Marie

Published by: Dark Owl Fantasy Inc.
Publication date: September 13th 2019
Genres: New Adult, Urban Fantasy

Rule one: Don’t look at the demon.

When I arrived at my uncle’s house, I expected my relatives to be like me—outcast sorcerers who don’t practice magic. I was right about the sorcery, but wrong about everything else.

Rule two: Don’t listen to the demon.

My uncle chose a far deadlier power. He calls creatures of darkness into our world, binds them into service contracts, and sells them to the highest bidder. And I’m supposed to act like I don’t know how illegal and dangerous it is.

Rule three: Don’t talk to the demon.

All I had to do was keep my nose out of it. Pretend I didn’t find the summoning circle in the basement. Pretend I didn’t notice the shadowy being trapped inside it. Pretend I didn’t break the rules.

But I did, and now it’s too late.

From the author of The Guild Codex: Spellbound comes a new series that will plunge an unprepared young woman into the darkest magic of the mythic world.
Goodreads Button
Available At:
Amazon |

Excerpt

I snapped the Demonica guide shut and replaced it under the table, then scooped up my remaining cookies and walked across the hardwood floor. I stopped two long steps from the summoning circle, the dome-shape interior filled with inky, impenetrable shadows.
I held up a cookie.

“This,” I announced, “is a double-chocolate brownie cookie. It’s delicious, and I’ll give it to you if you answer a question for me.”
Silence from within the darkness.

“I answered your question,” I added accusingly.

Quiet lay upon the room—then a soft, husky laugh.

“A question, hh’ainun?” the demon crooned. “What would you ask?”

Doubts trickled through me. This was a bad idea, but I plowed on. “Do demons lie?”

“Ch,” it replied, a sound of cold amusement. “Zh’ūltis question. Ask another.”

I frowned. “What does zhuh-ool ... what does that word mean?”

“Stupid. Stupid question.”

My frown deepened into a scowl. I rephrased. “If it’s true that demons don’t lie, why is that?”

A long pause, but it wasn’t the same silence as before. My skin prickled, instinct warning that a predator’s attention was locked on me.

“Tell me truths and lies, hh’ainun.”

“What?” I asked blankly.

The demon said nothing, waiting.

Brow furrowed, I searched for harmless things to say. “I moved here six days ago. I miss my college classes. My favorite class was biology. I enjoy baking for my family.”

“Moved here,” the demon repeated in its swirling accent. “True. Miss your ... college,” it enunciated carefully, as though unfamiliar with the word, “true. Biology ... lie.”

My eyes widened.

“Your family.” It rolled the last word as though tasting it. “Lie.” “No,” I said. “That one is true.”
“Lie,” the demon repeated with certainty.

“You’re wrong. I love baking for my family.”

“Zh’ūltis.”

“Did you just call me stupid?” I clenched my jaw, then relaxed. “You didn’t answer my question.”

“I did.”

“No, you didn’t.” Glaring, I took a deep breath. “Fine. Whatever. If that’s your idea of answering a question, I won’t bother asking any more.”

I stepped closer to the circle, knelt, and carefully set the paper towel of cookies on the floor. Keeping my body as far away as possible, I nudged a corner of the paper across the silver inlay, then snatched my hand back. This was the closest I’d ever come to the circle.

A soft scuff against the hardwood emanated from the darkness. The paper towel twitched, then slid into the black dome.

Icy blades of fear cut through me. Suddenly, the demon was no longer a voice—it was a physical being. Something alive and solid and real that could pull the cookies into its prison cell. My gaze rose from the floor where the treats had disappeared to the curved black wall.

A spark of red in the darkness.

Flames burst to life and shot upward in a hungry blaze. I flung myself back. As I landed on my butt, the brief flare lit a shape within the black—the dark outline of shoulders, the edge of a jaw, the plane of a cheekbone.

Burning crimson eyes caught the light and glowed.

The fire died as quickly as it had appeared, and the dome was once again filled with impenetrable darkness, the demon hidden within. Gray fluff fluttered out of the circle—ash. Flakes of ash. The demon had burned the paper towel.

I scooted across the floor, then pushed onto trembling legs. Without a word or a backward glance, I ran through the door and pushed it shut behind me, swearing never to return.

An hour later, as I lay in bed, trying to sleep, all I could see was the demon’s dim outline—and those eyes that had glowed like hot coals, like magma erupting from a volcano’s heart.


About The Author:

Annette Marie is the author of the Amazon best-selling Steel & Stone series, which includes Goodreads Choice Award nominee Yield the Night, and fantasy trilogy Red Winter. Her first love is fantasy, but fast-paced adventures and tantalizing forbidden romances are her guilty pleasures. She lives in the frozen winter wasteland of Alberta, Canada (okay, it's not quite that bad) with her comparatively sensible husband and their furry minion of darkness—sorry, cat— Caesar. When not writing, she can be found elbow-deep in one art project or another while blissfully ignoring all adult responsibilities.
Website | Goodreads | Facebook | Twitter |

Giveaway

Blitz-wide giveaway (INTL)
2 (Two) $10 Amazon gift cards

a Rafflecopter giveaway

*This blog is not responsible in any way for the giveaway.

Monday, September 16, 2019

Book Review: Callous By Sybil Bartel

Callous
(Alpha Bodyguard #6)
By Sybil Bartel

Bodyguard.

Tracker.

Silent Observer.

Life was in the details. The weight of a government issued rifle, the trajectory of a bullet, the speed of the wind—those details were crucial in the Marines. But outside the military, that level of observation was currency, and I was selling my skills to the best security firm in South Florida.

Except I wasn't on a job when I noticed the nervous brunette pushing through the crowded street. Her hair loose, her shirt borrowed, she stumbled in too-big shoes before looking over her shoulder. I didn't follow her glance. I didn't have to. I'd already spotted the muscle after her. The question was if I was going to do anything about it. Before I could decide, her pursuer took aim. It was the wrong move.

Now he was going to find out how callous a bodyguard could be.

CALLOUS is a sexy new standalone book in the Alpha Bodyguard Series.

The Alpha Bodyguard Series:

SCANDALOUS
MERCILESS
RECKLESS
RUTHLESS
FEARLESS
CALLOUS
Goodreads Button
Available At:
| Amazon | B&N | Kobo |

Check Out The Other Books In this Series:
(Linked to my review)



My Review:

Based on how this novel started out I thought it was going to be amazing but then it just wasn't. Before the pitchforks come out let me explain! It starts off with a prologue type of situation which I was excited about. The present story starts off nicely with the heroine telling us about present hero and action-packed-problem hits and.... then proceeds to get resolved within a chapter?

I guess it was wrong of me to think that all the books in this series would follow the pattern all the other books have set. It was just weird to have the couple interact because they wanted to and not because there was a big bad after one or all of them.

Most of this author's novels feature insta-love and she's one of the few that make me not hate it. Mercy (at least in the beginning) seemed to have a good head on her shoulders. She was sassy, mouthy and knew that she would put her son above anything else. Though in the last third of the novel she got this annoying tick where she started running off when small problems would come up with Preston instead of talking to him about it even though they always made up afterword anyways. 

Speaking of her son, (even though I dislike children in novels) I would have loved to have known what condition he has (or if he even has one?) that caused him to be born deaf. I can already imagine the future story he could have if/when the author ages him up.

Preston was a whole other ball game compared to the other heroes this series has featured in past books. He's broken due to happenings in his childhood and the way he's found to circumvent that is control in every aspect of his life and his surroundings. Counting and calculating is a way of life for him. If there was anyone who would benefit from talking to a therepist it would be him. Living like that is not what I would call living at all. As much as he is controlling he's also secretive. Getting personal information out of him is like pulling teeth. I would have liked to have gotten to know him more.

The ending was sweet! Considering there was no big bad (remember that ended almost before the present story began), it was just that: sweet. I'm not excited for Thomas's book to be next. The way the heroine Summer was presented didn't make me like her one bit. I'm still on the bandwagon of let's-give-Neil's-cousin/nephew(I forget who he was only that he was presented at the beginning of another character's book) a book for himself! 

My Favorite Quotes:

"Bad sh*t happened in odd numbers."

"Our experiences shape us."

"Feelings are never wrong, they just are."

My Rating:


Tuesday, September 10, 2019

Top Ten Tuesday: Books On My TBR I’m Avoiding Reading & Why

Hiya My Little Predators!!

Welcome back to:
A weekly feature created By The Broke And The Bookish
Currently featured on That Artsy Reader Girl

Books On My TBR
I’m Avoiding Reading & Why

The Gauntlet
(Imdalind Academy #1)
By Rebecca Ethington

I just don't know what to think of this series. It's linked to the Imadalind series that I loved until the author started having her life torn apart and the books saw the consequences of that. Ever since then I just don't know what to think. I've considered re-reading the whole series (because she has reworked them) and then starting on this one but I'm just not that interested in it at this point. It's been so long that I barely have a vague recollection of the story. I want this to live up to my expectations but I'm also scared that it might not because of where my head is at this moment.

Storm and Fury
(The Harbinger #1)
By Jennifer Armentrout

I haven't had much luck in liking this author's YA in the last few years and I'm scared this will be added to that list. The cliffhanger I can already perceive is also not helping the situation. I may do with this series like I did with her Dark Elements series and just wait it out and then read it after the hype has died down.

Everything is F*cked:
A Book About Hope
By Mark Manson

I'm a mood reader and I have to be in a specific mood to read and enjoy self-help books. This is probably full of great advice coupled with sarcasm and great life lessons, but it's not in every mood that I'm in that I enjoy these types of books. I'll get to it eventually but until then this will sit in my TBR pile.

Storm Cursed
(Mercy Thompson #11)
By Patricia Briggs

In all honesty, I have the audio book to this and I've tried multiple times to get into it but my head is just not in it. I know these books start out slow and this adventure, in particular, has been building from a few books back. It should be exciting and fun but it's just not happening. I could maybe skip this for the next book and come back to it in the future. This all comes down to I'm a mood reader please send help!

What books are you avoiding?
Let me know in the comments below!

Monday, September 9, 2019

Book Review: Blood Truth By J.R. Ward

Blood Truth
(Black Dagger Legacy #4)
By J.R. Ward

As a trainee in the Black Dagger Brotherhood's program, Boone has triumphed as a soldier and now fights side by side with the Brothers. Following his sire's unexpected death, he is taken off rotation against his protests—and he finds himself working with Butch O'Neal, former homicide cop, to catch a serial killer: Someone is targeting females of the species at a live action role play club. When the Brotherhood is called in to help, Boone insists on being a part of the effort—and the last thing he expects is to meet an enticing, mysterious female...who changes his life forever.

Ever since her sister was murdered at the club, Helaine has been committed to finding the killer, no matter the danger she faces. When she crosses paths with Boone, she doesn't know whether to trust him or not—and then she has no choice. As she herself becomes a target, and someone close to the Brotherhood is identified as the prime suspect, the two must work to together to solve the mystery...before it's too late. Will a madman come between the lovers or will true love and goodness triumph over a very mortal evil?
Goodreads Button
Available At:
| Amazon | B&N | Kobo | iBooks |

Check Out The Other Books In This Series:
(Linked to my review)





My Review:

I didn't know what to think going into this book. Boone was never a favorite character of mine or one that stood out in any way for me throughout past stories. Color me surprised when I actually got into both stories in this book!

Helaine was an interesting character because of the circumstances with her sister. Other than that there wasn't much to her. She's an introvert and a recluse by choice. Her sister was the life of the party and she was happy being off to the side. That isn't a bad thing (because I, too, am an introvert) but it doesn't make for an incredible character. Boone and the investigation were the most exciting things that happened to her in the last few years of her life. She was a nice character to get to know but not my favorite.

It was great getting to know Boone better. He was a very kind and respectful guy. He always wanted to do the right thing to help the people he loved. I ended up liking him very much by the end of the book. With the way the last BDB book ended, I was very invested in what would happen next with that whole situation. 

As interesting and heart-pounding as the end of Butch's investigation ended up being I still don't like Butch. It's also why I skipped his book altogether in the BDB series. There's something about the way his character is written that I dislike. I can respect him and his struggles and the help he's been to the BDB but I still can barely stand him.

The ending was great because I didn't see who the culprit was until the very end! Boone and Helaine's happily ever after was so sweet! Looking ahead to the next book in this series I don't see where it's going, especially because it'll feature Rhage's half brother who hasn't even been introduced anywhere in the books. I'm curious and I'll leave it at that!

My Favorite Quotes:

"Some things death did not change. Some things death made worse."

"You can get through almost anything as long as you know it won't last forever."

"Ah, fiction. So much better than reality."

My Rating:

Wednesday, September 4, 2019

Monthly Recap: August 2019


August!

August kicked my butt! For the second time in my life, I lost my voice due to a really strong cold. Add that to the usual symptoms of a cold: stuffy nose, overall weakness in my body and a beautiful dry hacking cough. It was a wonder I even slept for the first 14 days of this month or got any books read for that matter. It's a wonderful sensation to have to cough for every half-sentence you read. Listening to audio books also turned into an ordeal because every time I coughed I missed a few seconds of the narration. It was so fun. I swear I read books in a haze of medication. I'm still slightly hoarse with a persistent but much more manageable barely-there cough even 30 days after this whole thing started. This is the longest and most unruly cold I've had to date and I really want it gone.

On another note, Winter is almost over here in Brazil, unfortunately. I'm not looking forward to the sweltering heat and overall stickiness that comes with spring and summer here. Maybe if I wish it hard enough it'll snow here? Anyone know of any sure ways to make that happen? C:

Books I Read & Listened
To In August

  • Bear Run By Belinda Meyers - This was a quick read in the paranormal romance genre! It was just what I was looking for! (My review coming soon!)
  • Witchblade (2017) #15 - An interesting read but still way too short for my liking! This one seemed to zip by particularly quick. (My review here!)
  • The Shadow Weave By Annette Marie - This trilogy and I have a rocky past. I'm, now, ashamed to admit that I DNFed this book in August 2018. I'm SO glad to say this was an amazing book the second time around! (My review here!)
  • Immortal Promise By Kim LoraineI loved what the author did with this story! She picked up on a character she introduced in her first story with the first season of the Midnight Coven and incorporated a character from a series she recently started releasing.  (My review coming soon!)
  • The Blood Curse By Annette Marie - This was a great not-quite ending for this trilogy. It left a future adventure wide open for the Blackfire series the author is planning to join everyone up in! (My review coming soon!)
  • Blood Truth By J.R. Ward - I didn't know what to think going into this book. Boone was never a favorite character of mine or one that stood out in any way for me throughout past stories. Color me surprised when I actually got into both stories in this book! (My review coming soon!)




Books I Can't Wait To Get
My Hands On In September

* Book titles are linked to Goodreads.

9th

CallousTap Out | 


10th
Here's What Happened On
This Blog In August

I participated in the Top Ten Tuesday Meme:

I reviewed the following books & audio books:

What books are you looking forward to reading this month?
Let me know in the comments below!

Mikky Sig 2
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...